Cord Length for Robotic Pool Cleaners: How Much Is Enough
Short answer: Cord length is the length of the cable that connects a corded robotic pool cleaner to its power supply, printed on the listing as the seller's stated figure. It is a cable dimension, not a coverage promise. The reader measures the distance from the outlet area to the pool, compares that with the stated figure, and reads the maker's page for the model's details. Cordless robots have no cord length, because they carry a battery instead of a cable.
What cord length means on a listing
A corded robotic pool cleaner receives its power through a cable that runs from a power supply kept out of the water to the robot inside the pool. The listing for such a model usually prints the cable's length as one of its stated details. A cordless robot carries a battery instead, so its listing has no cable and no cord length.
The cord length is the seller's stated figure. It describes how much cable ships with the model, not what the robot will cover in a particular pool. The reader reads the number on the listing, then reads the maker's page, which is where the maker states how the cable is meant to be run and which pool types the model is sold for.
What to measure before you compare
Before comparing listings, measure the distance from the place where the power supply would sit to the pool's edge, then add the distance down into the water where the robot starts. A tape measure gives the reader that number at home. This article cannot say which length covers which pool; the maker's page is the place to confirm the model's reach.
The distance depends on where the pool sits relative to the outlet, not on the pool's type. Pool type is a separate label on the listing, and the main robot guide orders robots by that label first.
How to read a stated cord length
The first words of a listing title tell whether the model is corded or cordless. A title that says cordless means no cord length applies. A title that does not say cordless may still print a cord length in the bullet list; if no number appears, the site records "not stated" and the reader should turn to the maker's page.
- A stated cord length is read as the seller's figure, a straight measure of the cable.
- A missing cord length means the seller did not print it, not that the model lacks a cable.
- A cordless listing never carries a cord length.
Cord length, pool type and the maker's page
Pool type is a label the seller prints, and cord length does not change with that label. A model sold for inground pools and a model sold for above ground pools may each have a stated cord length; the reader matches the model to their pool type first, then reads the cable figure. The maker's page is where the maker states the pool types the model is built for, as the Dolphin guide and the both-pool-types guide assume.
A maker's page is where the cable question is answered; for example, Aiper's page presents the Scuba series as cordless models, while Maytronics' page lists the Dolphin series. Cord length is one stated detail among several, and a reader comparing 2 listings of the same pool type compares it alongside wall climbing, battery and filter words.
What "anti-tangle swivel" means as a listing word
Some listings print "anti-tangle swivel" near the cable. The swivel is a rotating joint in the cable's path that the seller names as a feature. It is read as a stated detail, not as a promise that the cable will never twist; the anti-tangle swivel article explains the term in the same way.
A cordless model has no cable, so anti-tangle swivel words do not appear in the same way. The battery and the out-of-water charging routine replace the cable question for those models, and the cordless guide covers them.
Whether cord length is the right question
Cord length matters only for a corded robot. A reader whose deck has no outlet near the water is better served by a cordless model, which removes the cable question entirely; those listings carry battery and cordless words instead. A reader who prefers a corded robot compares the stated cord length against the measured distance.
For any model that carries a battery, the reader reads the maker's manual for charging and storage. At the end of the battery's useful life, the reader should follow the EPA guidance for used lithium-ion batteries: they should not go in household trash or recycling bins, and should be taken to a separate collection point.
Power, water and the manual
For any question about the outlet, the cable or the power supply near the pool, follow the maker's manual and ask a licensed electrician; UL Solutions is one organization that certifies products, and its page explains certification programs generally.
After use, a corded robot's cable should be stored as the maker's manual describes it; the storage article explains what that means for a robot and its power supply.
What to pick for your situation
| If you | Pick | Buying guide |
|---|---|---|
| Your deck has no outlet near the water | A cordless robot, which carries no cord length | Best Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaners in 2026: Picks by Stated Details |
| Your pool is inground and you want a corded robot | The main robot guide, compared on stated details | Best Robotic Pool Cleaner (2026): Picks by Pool, Walls and Battery |
| You prefer a maker that publishes cable details on its page | Dolphin robots by Maytronics | Best Dolphin Robotic Pool Cleaner (2026): Picks by Stated Details |
| You want wall climbing on an inground pool's walls | Wall climbing robots for inground pools | Best Wall Climbing Robotic Pool Cleaner for Inground Pool (2026) |
| Your pool is above ground | Robots for both pool types | Best Robotic Pool Cleaner for Both Pool Types (2026) |
| You want a cordless model that climbs walls | Cordless wall climbing robots | Best Cordless Wall Climbing Robotic Pool Cleaners 2026 |
Questions
What does cord length mean on a robotic pool cleaner listing?
It is the length of the cable that connects a corded robot to its power supply, printed as the seller's stated figure. It is a cable dimension, not a coverage promise.
Does a longer cord mean the robot cleans better?
No. Cord length is a reach figure for the cable; cleaning outcomes are not stated on the listing. The reader matches the cord length to their outlet-to-pool distance and reads the maker's page for the model's details.
Do cordless robots have a cord length?
No. A cordless robot runs on a battery and has no cable into the water, so its listing does not print a cord length.
What if the listing does not state a cord length?
The site records "not stated" for a missing detail. The reader should read the maker's page, which may state the cable length and how the cable is meant to be run.
How do you measure the distance your cord needs to reach?
Use a tape measure from the place where the power supply would sit to the pool's edge, then add the distance down to where the robot starts in the water. Compare that number with the cord length printed on the listing.
Is cord length the same as pool size?
No. Cord length is a cable dimension; pool type and pool size are separate labels and questions for the maker's page.
Recent updates
- : First published.